View Details

Course Code
Course Types
Training Event

This course is suitable for social workers who already have experience of attending court and have completed introductory Court Work Skills training.

Social work practitioners are often involved in complex care proceedings over an extended period of time. During this they will be required to liaise with parties, instruct expert witnesses, take part in negotiations outside the court or be invited to be the ‘experts’ themselves.

This course is provided by barristers at Crown Office Row for experienced social work practitioners to consolidate and build on their existing court work skills.

Start Date
Friday 20 September 2019
End Date
Friday 20 September 2019
09:30 - 16:30
Number of Sessions
Learning outcomes

By the end of this course you will be able to:

  • identify the role of the social worker as ‘expert’ in their own right and the issues that a social worker should feel confident to comment on

  • recognise the circumstances when an expert witness may be required and contribute to the drafting of a Letter of Instruction

  • write a robust and convincing analysis

  • demonstrate how to include research in the assessment process and use it effectively to recognise risk and likely outcomes for children

  • describe the purpose of and effectively contribute to negotiations with parties outside of the court

  • recognise how to prepare for a final hearing and withstand the pressures of an extended period of cross-examination particularly when utilising research

Additional information

The afternoon session will take place in a court room so participants will be escorted between venues by the trainer.

This course is not open to Community & Voluntary Sector organisations.

Target Audience
Children's Services / Children's Services (B&HCC) / Foster Carers / Health / Social Workers
target audience
Course pre-requisites
Jubilee Library - Conference Room 2, Jubilee Street
Event Trainers
Trainer Crown Office Row / Francis King / Natasha Watson
Pricing Bands
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
Tier 4
Tier 5