View Details

Introduction to Harmful Practices: Female Genital Mutilation (FGM), Forced Marriage and so-called 'Honour' Based Violence

Course Code
Course Types
Training Event

This workshop will explore the definitions and practices associated with female genital mutilation (FGM), forced marriage and so-called 'honour' based violence, and will place them within the wider context of Violence against Women and Girls (VAWG).This session will focus on the communities in which these pratices commonly take place, and the procedures if a disclosure or the risk of a harmful practice is presented.

Start Date
Friday 6 July 2018
End Date
Friday 6 July 2018
10:00 - 13:00
Number of Sessions
Learning outcomes

At the end of the workshop participants will:

  • demonstrate a clear understanding of different harmful practices

  • identify risk factors that can render women and girls vulnerable to harmful practices

  • identify the signs that a women or girl is at risk of, or experiencing, harmful practice(s)

  • describe the legislative and policy frameowrks that exist for the prevention of harmful practices, the safeguarding of women and girls and the prosecution of perpetrators

  • understand that whule harmful practices can have a disproportionate impact on some groups, they are a form of VAWG, and are interconnected with other forms of domestic and sexual violence and abuse, and are likely to co-exist within the same family environment

Additional information

This course will be of particular relevance to staff working in a universal setting who need to be able to respond to a disclosure sensitively and in a way that ensures a person's safety, as well as directing people to specialist services.

Target Audience
For anyone where relevant to role
target audience
Course pre-requisites

This is a Level 1 course, however, attendees should ensure they have, as a minimum, completed the Home Office course 'FGM e-learning'.

Hove Town Hall - Meeting Room G91, Norton Road
Event Trainers
Luke Martin
Pricing Bands
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
Tier 4
Tier 5