View Details

First Aid at Work (3 day) - for council employees and schools ONLY

Course Code
Course Types
Training Event, Qualification

This course is for those that will be acting as lead first aiders and will provide candidates with a recognised first aid at work qualification.

Upon completion of the course, First Aiders will be able to take control and provide assistance in an emergency situation at their workplace Candidates will be able to respond to an accident or illness promptly, effectively and safely.

Topics covered include: resuscitation and CPR, dealing with wounds, bleeding, burns, scalds, heart conditions and minor injuries.

Attendees will undertake a practical and written assessment on the final day of the course. On successful completion, you will be a recognised First Aider for 3 years; you are not required to attend the one day emergency first aid training as well.

NB: Suitable clothing taking some physical activity into account should be worn.

Start Date
Monday 23 September 2019
End Date
Wednesday 25 September 2019
09:30 - 16:30
Learning outcomes
Learning outcomes - by the end of the course you will:

   • know how to manage a casualty who is injured or suffering from a serious
     illness, until the emergency services arrive
   • know how to communicate and manage an emergency situation
   • state the principles of first aid and describe the role of First Aider
   • use first aid to resuscitate a person
Additional information
 This course is for you if you are employed by Brighton and Hove City Council or in Brighton and Hove Schools and:
   • you require a full first aid certificate
   • you will be taking a lead in first aid at your place of work

Please note: there are specific courses for staff that work in Adult Social Care or Children Services
Target Audience
Brighton & Hove City Council Staff / For anyone where relevant to role / Schools
target audience
Course pre-requisites
Brighton Town Hall - Volks Room , Bartholomew Square
Event Trainers
Top Edge Training
Pricing Bands
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
Tier 4
Tier 5