View Details

CPD Module - Understanding and Engaging with Trauma-Informed Practice

Course Code
Course Types
To apply for this module please 'request a place' and download the FCL Social Work CPD Funding Application Pack from Attached Documents, complete this and return to by the 13th July 2020.

This module is delivered online and starts on 8th March 2021 and runs for 7 weeks.

This online module introduces trauma-informed practice as a framework for understanding the impact of trauma, and how professionals can work effectively to facilitate safety and stability for the traumatised children, adults and families they encounter in their work.

Drawing upon the most recent research and examples from practice, the module enables both those in direct practice and service management to better facilitate safety and wellbeing throughout their organisations - for staff and service users alike.

Delivered entirely online over a seven week period, the module affords a high level of flexibility, enabling you to fit learning around existing jobs and personal commitments.

Module assessments include weekly reflective activities and a final paper focused on applying principles of trauma-informed practice in direct work and/or organisational contexts.
Start Date
Monday 8 March 2021
End Date
Monday 19 April 2021
10:30 - 11:30
Learning outcomes

  • Understanding and identifying trauma response in practice

  • Applying principles of a trauma-informed approach to a range of practice contexts

  • Identifying ways to manage the impact of working with trauma

  • Developing trauma-informed and trauma responsive organisational cultures

Additional information
By undertaking and completing this course you are agreeing to be part of the Trauma-Informed Community of Practice led by a Lead Practitioner in the Partners in Change Hub.
Target Audience
Assessment Services (BHCC) / Children's Services (B&HCC) / Social Workers
target audience
Course pre-requisites
Online Learning Session, bn2
Event Trainers
University of Sussex
Pricing Bands
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
Tier 4
Tier 5