Notification: Please note that this site will be undergoing essential maintenance on 26 May 2020 and will therefore be
unavailable from 10:00 for approximately 15 minutes. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

LSCB - Safeguarding Children 3: Child Protection Conferences & Core Groups

Course Code
Course Types
Training Event

This is the third instalment of our core courses which explores how agencies across the city work together to keep children safe through the Child Protection Conference, and Core Group processes. This includes a presentation by the Youth Advocacy Project which works with children & young people to ensure that their voice is taken into consideration. This course has recently been reviewed and updated by the CPRO (Child Protection Review Officers), in line with their restructured service. It will help you understand the aims, purpose and process of a Child Protection Conference and Core Group and to become a more effective participant in that process.

This training is provided by the Local Safeguarding Children's Board (LSCB)

Start Date
Thursday 26 September 2019
End Date
Thursday 26 September 2019
09:30 - 16:30
Number of Sessions
Learning outcomes

By the end of this training you will be able to:

  • gain understanding of the aims, purpose and process of child protection conferences and core groups.

  • develop an awareness of one’s own and other agencies roles and responsibilities in the child protection process.

  • develop practice in preparation and presentation in the ‘child protection conference’ and ‘core group’ setting.

  • develop an understanding of the relevance of the ‘core group’ in implementing the child protection plan.

  • develop understanding of the risk and protective factors which determine whether a CP or CIN Plan is needed

Additional information
Target Audience
Children's Services / For anyone where relevant to role
target audience
Course pre-requisites
Great Hall, Moulsecoomb Hub North, Hodshrove Lane, Moulsecoomb
Event Trainers
Marion Connor
Pricing Bands
Tier 1
Tier 2
Tier 3
Tier 4
Tier 5